Skip to Content


"Conquer the angry man by love.
Conquer the ill-natured man by goodness.
Conquer the miser with generosity.
Conquer the liar with truth."
The Dhammapada

Tenth Throne Holder

<Click here to view in Chinese>

The Tenth Lineage Throne Holder: Padma Rigdzin Jamyang Tshulthrim Gyatsho

Padma Rigdzin Jamyang Tshulthrim Gyatsho was born in 1968 at the Lhatse Gyang-ra family. His father is Odsal Nyima and his mother is Dzomkyid. At eleven years old, he was recognised as the reincarnation of the ninth lineage throne holder by Terton Sera Yangtrul and he then went to Lhatse Monastery to study the scriptures and the five sciences of Buddhism.

At the age of thirteen, without informing his family members and his teachers, he alone secretly walk thirty four days to Lhasa for pilgrimage. Upon returning to Lhatse Monastery, he studied Bodhisattvacharyavatara, sutrayana scriptures, Dzogchen, The Stages of the Nine Vehicles, and other tantric teachings under Khen Rinpoche Lozang Tshulthrim. He also received Nyingmapa initiations, oral transmission, teachings from Donyod Gyatsho who guided him in perfecting the Four Foundations Practice, the practice of channels, winds, and drops, and the Dzogchen practice. He also did solitary retreats in the monastery frequently. At fifteen years old, he went to Palyu Jangchhub Dar-gyeling to studied under Gyangkhang Trulku Thubten Zangpo Rinpoche, and received from him teaching of the union of Dzogchen and Mahamudra. He also received initiations from Vajra Master La-lung and received the Vajra Acharya Hat. Thereafter he returned to Lhatse Monastery and officially became the Lineage Throne Holder of Palyul Lhatse lineage. After this, for many years, he presided over the grand puja of Vajrakilaya in Lhatse Monastery.

At the age of eighteen, he completed the study of all the Palyul lineage teachings. Then he went to Labrang in Gansu region and studied the five sciences of Buddhism under Geshe Jamyang Gyatsho. He also studied under Gungthang Rinpoche and received from him many initiations of the new translation school’s tantra. He also received teaching of the new tantra from Geshe De-tsha Yeshe, Geshe Muge, and other geshes. At twenty five years old, he went for pilgrimage to Lhasa again. After that he went to Himalaya, Nepal, and India for pilgrimage. He then studied Prajnaparamita for a year at India’s Drepung Gomang Monastery. Then he met Palyul Lineage Throne Holder Kyabje Penor Rinpoche in South India, and learned Nyingmapa Tantric teachings for many years at Namdrol Sheddrub Dar-gye Ling.

In 1996, Penor Rinpoche bestowed him the title of the Tenth Lineage Throne Holder of Lhatse Monastery and Vajra Acharya Hat. Then in following the wish of Penor Rinpoche, he came to Singapore to propagate the Palyul Lineage teachings, and founded the Lhatse lineage’s Tibetan Buddhist Studies Society. In 1998, he participated in Prajnaparamita debate examination organised by South India’s Drepung Gomang Monastery of the Gelugpa Order, and among over one thousand monastic exam candidates, he ranked first, and was awarded the Geshe degree of Drepung Rabjampa (Buddhist Philosophy Doctorate).

In July of 1999, he founded the Lhatse Lineage Buddhist Society at Taiwan. At 9th September 1999, he returned to Lhatse Monastery in western Kham region, and presided over the ceremony of laying foundation of the Monastery Restoration Project, which was expected to be completed by year 2003.

According to The Lhatse Lineage, the first lineage throne holder Serpa Yeshe Sengge was a descendant of the Four Heavenly Kings who born in the human realm during their dream time at heaven, and the cause of this was due to the request made to the gods of Zhag-ra Lhatse Mountain. The Lhatse family surname was given by the gods of the heaven realm. Thus, the noble Lhatse lineage, beside having generations of masters who possessed the pure Palyul lineage, also held the noble family surname that came from the heavenly gods. Among the family lineage, beside the fifth, seventh, and eighth lineage throne holders are householder yogis, the rest of the lineage holders are monks. Especially the current tenth Lhatse lineage throne holder Padma Rigdzin Rinpoche who is the sixth reincarnation of the first lineage throne holder Serpa Yeshe Sengge. In another word, the current Lhatse Rinpoche has the three features of pure Palyul lineage, reincarnation lineage, and Lhatse family divine lineage, all of which are precious Dharma Lineage.