Skip to Content


"Conquer the angry man by love.
Conquer the ill-natured man by goodness.
Conquer the miser with generosity.
Conquer the liar with truth."
The Dhammapada

First Throne Holder

<Click here to view in Chinese>

The First Lineage Throne Holder: Mahasiddha Kunzang Sherab

The First Throne-holder, Mahasiddha Kunzang Sherab, was the combined reincarnation of the Lord Buddha's son, Rahula, and the siddhis Arya Udasaka Dharmata, Shree Sinha, and so forth. Under his leadership Palyul Monastry was expanded to hold three thousand monks and the Buddha's teachings were widely propagated through the means of study and practise.

Among his countless disciples, his foremost spiritual sons were Padma Lhundrup Gyatso and the four great sons of Hor: Serpa Yeshe Sange, Jangang Ahpel, Shugang Bading, and Tsangda Dorje Thar, who established the following monastries as their own seat. Serpa Yeshe Sange established Lhatse monastry which grew to hold seven hundred monks, Jangang Ahpel established Jangang monastry with four hundred monks, Shugang Barding established Shugang monastry with three hundred monks, and Tsangda Dorje Thar established Tsangda monastry with four hundred monks. These four monastries and the Oseling monastry of Tsakog became principal monastries which gave rise to many branch monastries. Over time these five branched into one hundred great monastries which further branched into one thousand branch -monastries which further branched into countless sub-branchmonastries.

At Darthang Monastry of Golog there were one thousand monks and nuns and over time this monastry gave rise to the branch monastries of Padma Oedling inChina which held five hundred monks, and Tsundru Monastry of Khosi which held three hundred monks. From these three monastries further branches were established in Markham, Sangen, Rangshab, Throm, Chagdud, lower and upper region of Hor, the eastern Gyalmorong, and Drago in China. These branches pervaded all the areas of Golog, Ngakhog, Serkhog, Dokhog, Nyikhog, Lotsang, Jerong, Dege, Dzakhog and Gojo and every monastry was fully furnished with statues and religious images. Even today it is seen that the mother Palyul Monastry and its branches are upholding the Buddha Dharma through the three wheels of study, contemplation, and conduct.

Padma Lhundrup Gyatso, the reincarnation of the Sokpo Lhapal, was the second throne holder. The third throne holder was Drubwang Padma Norbu, who was the combimed manifestation of the great pandita Vimalamitra and the treasure revealer Jatson Nyingpo. Karma Chophel Zangpo was the fourth throne holdere and he was the incarnation of Mahasiddhi Mingyur Dorje. The fifth throne holder was Karma Lhawang and he was born from the decendents of the nephew of first throne holder Kunzang Sherab. Shree Sinha's manifestation, Karma Gyurmed Ngeden Tenzin, was the sixth throne holder. The seven throne throne holder was Gyatrul Padma Dongag Tenzin, a reincarnation of Gar, King Trisong Deutsen's Dharma Minister, Oryen Dongag Nyima was the eighth throne holder and was the reincarnation of Ogyen Dongag Chokyi Nyima. The ninth throne holder was the manifestation of the Lord of Secrets, Vajrapani, known as Drubwang Rinpoche Padma Kunzang Tenzin or Drubwang Palchen Dudpa Tsal, and was the second Drubwang Rinpoche. The fourth reincarnation of Karma Tashi known as Karma Thekchog Nyingpo was the tenth throne holder. The eleventh throne holder is Jigme Shedrup Chokyi Drayang, the third Druwang Rinpoche who is the manifestation of Vimalamitra and is the current throne holder of the Palyul tradition.

Arising from pure morality which is like an oyster,

Are the pearls of the throne holders of Palyul Monastry,

Which form a glorious rosary of an unbroken lineage,

ornamenting and beautifying the enlightened tradition.